Dear Colleagues:


In my role as the Past President of the Western Academy of Management (WAM), one of my tasks is to manage the selection process for the Ascendant Scholar Award. Some of the scholars who were recognized early in their careers with this award include: Tom Lee, Alan Meyer, Jone Pearce, Nandini Rajagopalan, Gretchen Spreitzer, Roy Suddaby, and Anne Tsui. 


I would like to invite nominations for WAM's 2020 Ascendant Scholars. Further information on the criteria and the nomination process are provided below.


What does the award recognize?

The Ascendant Scholar award recognizes individuals with a maximum of six to seven years of experience, preferably from or with strong connections to business schools in the Western Academy of Management region, who are considered "ascendant" because of an academic record that includes:

  • Great research, evidenced by both the quality and quantity of articles published

  • Great teaching, as evidenced by teaching awards and nominations, teaching evaluations, and any other contributions to teaching

  • Great service record to the field or to business

  • An overall professional trajectory or potential that looks very promising for the future 

While preference is given to nominees who are current members of WAM and regular attendees of WAM meetings, our past awardees have not been limited to this group.  


How to Nominate Someone for the Ascendant Scholar Award

To nominate a candidate for the Ascendant Scholar Award, please email the following to me at

  • A nomination letter summarizing how the nominee meets the criteria for the award

  • The resume of the individual being nominated

  • Any additional relevant information

Nominations are due on or before Sunday, November 10th, 2019. Candidates must attend the WAM Conference in 2020 in order to receive the award.


Review Process

WAM’s Executive Committee will review nominations during its board meeting in late November, 2019. Candidates selected to receive the award will be notified shortly thereafter.


Thank you in advance for your thoughtful consideration of individuals to nominate for this award. I would be grateful if you could forward this information to your colleagues in the West who could help us identify deserving candidates.




Sarah Kovoor-Misra, Past President

Western Academy of Management