top of page

WAM Awards 

WAM Awards

Joan G. Dahl Award

  • Eligibility: Presented for extraordinary contributions to the innovation and creativity of WAM, and/or to the professional growth and development of its members.

  • Process: Selected by the President of WAM. 


André Delbecq WAM State of Mind Award

  • Eligibility: This award is intended to recognize members who have supported WAM for long periods of time, often in informal, unsung ways. 

  • Process: Selected by WAM’s EC.


Wammy Award

  • Eligibility: A paper accepted and delivered at the annual meeting is eligible for a Wammy Award if it is based on an idea discussed with others at a previous WAM annual meeting. 

  • Process: Authors are asked to self-identify for the award when submitting papers. 


Coveted Double-Wammy Award

  • Eligibility: A paper that has previously received a Wammy Award and is subsequently published in a peer-reviewed outlet is eligible for the Coveted Double-Wammy Award. 

  • Process: Authors are asked to self-identify by contacting the EC when their Wammy Award winning paper is published.

Joan G. Dahl President's Award Recipients:

2023:           Sally Baack, San Francisco State University

2022:          Thomas Wright, Wright Institute of Org. Learning

2021:           David Hannah, Simon Fraser University

2015:          Jeffrey P. Shay, Washington and Lee University

2011:           Cynthia Nalevanko, Sage Publications

2005:          Paul Hirsh, Northwestern University

2004:          Richard W. Stackman, Uni. of San Francisco

2003           Kay Devine, University of Alberta


2002:         Joyce Osland, San Jose State University


2001:         Paul Buller, Gonzaga University

                  Thomas G. Cummings, Uni. of Southern California 

2000:        John and Suzanne Bigelow, Boise State University

                  Gretchen Spreitzer, University of Michigan

1999:         Bruce H. Drake, University of Portland

1998:         Andre L. Delbecq, Santa Clara University

1996:         John G. Dahl, California State Uni., Northridge


1995:         Robert Wright, Pepperdine University

1994:         Kimberly B. Boal, Texas Tech University

1992:         John W. Seybolt, University of Utah

1991:          Anthony P. Raia, Uni. of California, Los Angeles 


1990:         Craig C. Lundberg, Cornell University

André Delbecq WAM 'State of Mind' Award Recipients:

2023:         Sarah Kovoor-Misra, University of Colorado Denver 


2022:        James Downing, Naval Postgraduate School

2021:        Richard Stackman, University of San Francisco


2012:         Paul Buller, Gonzaga University

                  Glenn McEvoy, Utah State University

2011:         Asbjorn Osland, San Jose State University


2010:         Fr. Brian Bainbridge (poshumous)

                  Kay Devine, Athabasca University

2009:        Andre Delbecq, Santa Clara University

2008:        Charles Vance, Loyola Marymount University                                                                 

2007:         Craig C. Lundberg, Cornell University

2006:         B. Thomas Mayes, CSU Fullerton

WAMMY Award Recipients:

Surviving or Thriving: Social Framing, Community Embeddedness, and Venture Performance:
Robert Eberhart, Santa Clara University

Renee Rottner, University of California, Santa Barbara


A Closer Look Into The Improvements In Student Teamwork Effectiveness Following Peer-Evaluation

Monique Domingo, San Francisco State University

Antoaneta Petkova, San Francisco State University

Eric Lamm, San Francisco State University


The Buffering Role of Employee Commitment in Reducing the Outcomes of Procedural Injustice: A Moderated Mediation Approach:

Nourah Alfayez, New Mexico State University


Ways to Initiate Character-Based Leadership:  What Do Others See?:

Arthur Degroat, Kansas State University

John Hollwitz, Fordham University

Lucas Monzani, Plymouth University

Gerard Seijts, Western University

Thomas Wright, Fordham University

A Research Study of the GRIT of freshman Undergraduate, Senior Undergraduate and MBA Students:

Harold Harlow, Wingate University


Exploring Engagement Strategies in Mid-Career and Beyond:

Ellen Ensher, Loyola Marymount University

Elisa Grant-Vallone, CSU San Marcos

Evidence of universal leadership effects on follower satisfaction:

Arran Caza, University of Manitoba

Brianna Caza, University of Manitoba

Barry Posner, Santa Clara University

Engaging Millennials in the American Workplace

Stephanie Van Dellen, University of San Diego

Within Country Linguistic Distance and the Transfer of Strategic Organizational Practices:

Komal Kalra, University of Victoria 

Mike Szymanski, University of Victoria

Carlo Brighi, University of Victoria

bottom of page